Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

I'm new to jeeps but with questions about the XJ

Old 08-18-2016, 07:01 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default I'm new to jeeps but with questions about the XJ

I'm new to jeeps but not new to the automotive hobby, I've just decided to do something new. I have been doing a lot of reading on the site to learn what I can to be informed about buying an XJ. The XJ I buy will be a daily driver, the questions I have I hope make sense......

1. I am interested in the 97-99 year Cherokee I like the look of it, I have read many people say the 98-99 years are the best years. Is there any problems with the 97 model year that make it less desirable?
Correct me if I am wrong Isn't 1997 the first year of OBD II? I also read that the transmission was special to that year and would have some trouble swapping an earlier model if needed.

2. I have found some 1996 model year XJ's some nice and some not....I read that 96 was the transition year from OBD I to OBD II. If this is correct does this cause any repair or swaping issues or problems.

3. I have seen many 2001's for sale I know about the 0331 head casting issue swapping a head doesn't worry me, are there other issues that would stop a person from buying one.
Old 08-18-2016, 07:50 AM

Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by old dog 61
I'm new to jeeps but not new to the automotive hobby, I've just decided to do something new. I have been doing a lot of reading on the site to learn what I can to be informed about buying an XJ. The XJ I buy will be a daily driver, the questions I have I hope make sense......

1. I am interested in the 97-99 year Cherokee I like the look of it, I have read many people say the 98-99 years are the best years. Is there any problems with the 97 model year that make it less desirable?