Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Have I Finally Come to My Senses? (Cold Feet About Building Dana 30)

Search this Thread

Old 06-17-2019, 11:36 PM
CF Veteran

Received 226 Likes on 176 Posts
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 L
Default Have I Finally Come to My Senses? (Cold Feet About Building Dana 30)

99 XJ, 4.0, AW4, 35's, frame stiffeners. New England wheeler. Likes to play in the rocks. Claims to be easy on the skinny pedal but has been known to bounce rev limiter.

I've been collecting parts for a badass dana 30 build for like 3 years. Countless of hours of research. I have 4.56 gears in boxes that have enough dust on them to write my name. WJ swap parts, truss, etc.

I already know the answer to this question. This isn't a question. This is an expression of my prior goals leaving and my newer, more expensive, dreams entering.

When I first bought my 35's a few years back I wanted my Jeep to be an adventure rig and run 35's with true-tracs or maybe lockers. After doing some research I determined that I had the self control to make a Dana 30 survive locked on aired down 35's in some sticky situations. I thought the guys blowing R+P's were some lead-footed hooligans who have more ***** than brains.

Fast forward to now, my goals have changed slightly but the more important point is I realized I don't have the self control to make a Dana 30 last. Stroking the 4.0, deeper t-case gears, armor and a cage, and lower tire pressures are all on my mind. Also more than that, my friends and I are planning trips to some pretty remote places (mostly up in Maine) where a grenaded R+P or fractured housing would mean a very intense recovery operation.

I need the cushion of bigger axles. I just don't think I trust the Dana 30 locked on 35's.

Here're the details on what I was/am planning:

-HP non-disco Dana 30 housing
-4.56 gears (would do 4.88 but already have the 4.56, plus tiny pinion)