Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ

Debate: Are Jeeps money pits or reliable tanks??

Search this Thread

Old 10-20-2012, 07:36 AM
Banned

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L i6
Default Debate: Are Jeeps money pits or reliable tanks??

Originally Posted by wifin
Wait a minute...it's a Jeep...you're gonna pour money into it anyways.

I'm new to Jeeps. In the BMW world, they joke (and warn newcomers) about how costly it is to maintain one, esp. if you don't DIY. Be prepared to spend $2000 a year to keep it running right, etc.

In the Jeep world I see a stark schism.

One camp says these trucks are tanks and will basically run forever with the legendary i6 4.0L. Cheap parts, tons of used parts, tons of aftermarket parts, and very DIY friendly. Car always starts and pretty much is a beast that never lets you down, beyond needing routine maintenance like any car.

In the other camp, you have comments like the above. That Jeeps are money pits. That "Just Empty Every Pocket" joke. Sure, I can see it being expensive if you're modding your Jeep like crazy, b/c it would cost a lot even to mod a Hyundai or Honda. But are they implying that even for stock build, routine daily driving, the Jeep is a money pit sinkhole that always needs work? Always needs something to be fixed, etc?

Which is it? Or, is this just all subjective and relative?

Last edited by BimmerJeeper; 10-20-2012 at 07:52 AM.
Old 10-20-2012, 07:46 AM
CF Veteran

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1986
Engine: 5.0

You must be on R3V too. Anything can be a money pit once you start the mods. A lift, bigger wheels/tires, bumpers, winches then better diffs to tolerate a heavy foot and big tires. The list goes on. No different than cars. Just different directions.
Old 10-20-2012, 07:54 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 97
Engine: I6 4.0

In stock form jeeps are tanks nd will run forever with normal maintenance