Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Car seat and practically of the XJ

Search this Thread

Old 07-08-2019, 01:54 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Car seat and practically of the XJ

Hi everyone I am new to the Jeep world and looking to get my first Jeep. My wife and I had our first kid about a year ago and im looking for something a little more practical but still has some fun factor to it. Im curently driving a 2003 Mustang GT and the biggest issue with that car is to fit the car seat in the back the front seat needs to be up as far as possible to the point that no one can sit in front. The back seat looks somewhat small in the xj as well and was wondering how practical it is to put a car seat (eventually two) in the back and still have adequate room for the front two seats. Also any other info about having kids and using an xj as a daily driver (split betweent my motorcycle) would be usefull. I do plan also on doing some light off roading. My wife still isnt fully convinced on me getting a 20+ year "bro" car as she says. Any info for those of you that have kids would be nice! Thanks for the help!
The following users liked this post:
downs (07-08-2019)
Old 07-08-2019, 02:09 PM
CF Veteran

Received 164 Likes on 139 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0L

Pretty similar situation. Depending on car seat of course. They make new car seats so bulky you basically have to have a minivan or full size SUV to really fit them in there. Lucky for me my daughter can ride forward facing now which frees up a ton of space, my son still rides rear facing and I have to put him on the passenger side and run the seat pretty far forward. I'm at work today but can take pictures tomorrow when I get home if you would like. I'm about to install some ZJ rear seats and they look like they may give me a little more space for seats as well.
Austin Mierau (07-09-2019)
Old 07-08-2019, 05:09 PM
CF Veteran

Received 374 Likes on 294 Posts
Year: 1987