Cherokee Chat General non-tech Cherokee chat
XJ/MJ/ZJ/WJ
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Advice Needed: How Much Rust Is Too Much? (Used '99 XJ)

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2017, 09:47 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L
Default Advice Needed: How Much Rust Is Too Much? (Used '99 XJ)

Good morning all!

I'm new to the Jeep hunting game and I think I've finally stumbled across an XJ I'd actually like to pick up. I found a 1999 XJ with just over 80k on it for $3,000. The price is great for the millage as far as I can tell when comparing it to similar deals, but I found the same car on a different site that had a few more angles so I could really see the rust on it (Pics Below) Is the rust on the door and near the rear wheel passenger side rocker panel a big cause for concern? I have seen some posts that say any rust is a non-starter, but with the Jeep spending its whole life in Michigan, and powering through 17 Michigan winters, I don't think I'll be able to find one with zero rust. Just looking for some advice on if this is a good deal or if I should run the other way. I do not own a welder and I'm not exactly mechanically inclined. I have replaced a few things on my old 2002 Taurus (starter, lights, filters) but that is the extent of my experience. Again, any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
Attached Images             
Old 11-29-2017, 09:56 AM
CF Veteran

Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0 L6

The XJ is a unit-body design, which means that the body and frame are not separate, but one "unit". The rust you show in the pictures can be repaired fairly easily, but the areas of concern are not in your pictures. Seeing the amount of rust in your pictures leads me to believe that there is also rust underneath, on the floor pans and possibly on the uniframe, where it can be a very bad thing.

In other words, the question of, "does this XJ have too much rust" can't be answered with these pictures.