How to Install a Factory Extended Idle Switch - Page 2 - Jeep Cherokee Forum
Jeep Cherokee Forum


How to Install a Factory Extended Idle Switch

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-27-2017, 11:49 PM   #16
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,041

View salad's Photo Album My Photos
Default

He just told you. Those are the relay pins.
salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2017, 09:13 AM   #17
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 37

View 97xjCO's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by salad View Post
He just told you. Those are the relay pins.
maybe a diagram because the fog light switch has four wires from the pigtail harness and no other how tos were they using a relay it was just as simple as hooking up the wires and splicing. I just need to know if the issues is my fog light switch and needs to be replaced
97xjCO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2017, 06:52 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4

View RilXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Whats going to be the best way to wire up a factory Ext Idle switch if I dont have a factory fog switch?
RilXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 05:45 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
wizardpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Nolensville, TN
Posts: 542

View wizardpc's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RilXJ View Post
Whats going to be the best way to wire up a factory Ext Idle switch if I dont have a factory fog switch?
Can you clarify that? If you have a factory Ext idle switch you don't need a fog light switch. Do you mean that you don't have a connector?
wizardpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 09:01 AM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4

View RilXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizardpc View Post
Can you clarify that? If you have a factory Ext idle switch you don't need a fog light switch. Do you mean that you don't have a connector?
Sorry, I'm completely new to this forum and more worried about screwing up the posts than I am being clear with things. To clarify, I do not have any of the fog light wiring, my Jeep never had it from the factory. where should I be wiring to since I dont have that harness to tap into? I hope that makes more sense.
RilXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 10:14 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
Cane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Quebec
Posts: 898

View Cane's Photo Album My Photos
Default

he made it so it looks factory, but you can use any switch you'd like to make it more simple. go to your local eletronic store, get an on-off switch and wire it so when you turn "on" the switch, it grounds pin A12, which will bump your idle.

and to correct OP it's not just 97-01, it includes 96 too since it was OBDII too
Cane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 12:59 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
wizardpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Nolensville, TN
Posts: 542

View wizardpc's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RilXJ View Post
Sorry, I'm completely new to this forum and more worried about screwing up the posts than I am being clear with things. To clarify, I do not have any of the fog light wiring, my Jeep never had it from the factory. where should I be wiring to since I dont have that harness to tap into? I hope that makes more sense.
Do you own a factory EXT IDLE switch?

The actual circuit is very simple, as Cane said: Just have a switch that connects A12 to Ground. This can be done with your standard, boring toggle switch by simply connecting A12 to one side and Ground to the other. That's it.

If you do not own a factory EXT IDLE switch, that would be the simplest way to do it.

The factory switches is where it gets complicated because you have 12V+ thrown in there to power the two light bulbs in the switch--one for the backlight and one for the indicator light. Then you have to consider that the factory fog light switch is electrically different internally than the EXT IDLE switch, and you must use a relay.

I may just have to do a video this weekend.
wizardpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 01:01 PM   #23
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,041

View salad's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cane View Post
and to correct OP it's not just 97-01, it includes 96 too since it was OBDII too
Nope. 1996 PCM doesn't have that pin or wire in the harness.
salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 01:20 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4

View RilXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizardpc View Post
Do you own a factory EXT IDLE switch?

The actual circuit is very simple, as Cane said: Just have a switch that connects A12 to Ground. This can be done with your standard, boring toggle switch by simply connecting A12 to one side and Ground to the other. That's it.

If you do not own a factory EXT IDLE switch, that would be the simplest way to do it.

The factory switches is where it gets complicated because you have 12V+ thrown in there to power the two light bulbs in the switch--one for the backlight and one for the indicator light. Then you have to consider that the factory fog light switch is electrically different internally than the EXT IDLE switch, and you must use a relay.

I may just have to do a video this weekend.
I'm doing a horrible job helping you understand my situation, but i've at least figured out this forum. I do have a factory EXT switch (snatched one of the ones on Ebay recently) and was mostly concerned with the backlight and indicator light wiring. What will I tie my orange wire and blue/white wire into since I dont have a fog harness to tap into?
RilXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 01:55 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
wizardpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Nolensville, TN
Posts: 542

View wizardpc's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RilXJ View Post
I'm doing a horrible job helping you understand my situation, but i've at least figured out this forum. I do have a factory EXT switch (snatched one of the ones on Ebay recently) and was mostly concerned with the backlight and indicator light wiring. What will I tie my orange wire and blue/white wire into since I dont have a fog harness to tap into?
Well you're quite a lucky bastard, then! You will follow the instructions exactly as laid out by thatXJguy:

Quote:
Originally Posted by thatXJguy View Post
To start, if you have a factory foglight pigtail tucked back there, you can just snip it off and use those wires. You will want to crimp the orange wire from the foglight harness to the orange wire from the EXT idle switch pigtail. Next, you will crimp the black wire from the foglight harness to the black wire from the EXT idle switch pigtail. You will not use the other two wires coming from the foglight pigtail, so just wrap them with electrical tape or twist on some wire ends.

Next, you need to wire in your ignition power source. Directly above the switch panel, you will see a wiring harness wrapped in black electrical tape. You can peel away some of this, and you will find 3 wires in the harness. One of the wires is blue with a white stripe, JUST LIKE the wire coming from your EXT idle switch. You need to splice the blue and white wire from your EXT idle switch pigtail into this wire because that's an ignition power source for your HVAC system.

The last wire, the gray one, gets spliced into your computer at pin A12. Pin A12 is the solid gray wire (again, same color as the switch) that is located inside of the first plug on the computer (facing the front of the vehicle). It is the first wire in the second row of the plug. Just snip this wire, run some of your 18 gauge wire (about 5-6 feet) through the firewall from the switch to pin number A12. The bottom piece of the wire that you snipped can be grounded to the chassis. There is a nice spot right under the computer.
wizardpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 02:48 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 4

View RilXJ's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wizardpc View Post
Well you're quite a lucky bastard, then! You will follow the instructions exactly as laid out by thatXJguy:
Ah! Thank you, I appreciate your patience. I joined this forum just to ask a question that already had an answer haha.
RilXJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2017, 03:00 PM   #27
Someone stole my badge!
 
Basslicks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 8,835

View Basslicks's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RilXJ View Post
Ah! Thank you, I appreciate your patience. I joined this forum just to ask a question that already had an answer haha.
Well stick around! There's much to learn!
Basslicks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2017, 11:21 AM   #28
CF Veteran
Thread Starter
 
thatXJguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Hudson, FL
Posts: 3,667

View thatXJguy's Photo Album My Photos
Default

For those wondering, an Ebay seller has started selling AFTERMARKET EXT idle switches that are made to look like the factory switch.

Note the pigtail wiring is different, but it's a cheaper option to get this to work if you can't find or afford an OEM EXT Idle switch.

There are three wires instead of four: power, ground, and switched power. I would assume the one missing wire is the one that normally powers the built-in light bulb in the OEM switch, which is missing from the aftermarket one. So I think it would still wire up to pin A12 in your factory computer as indicated in this write-up.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Rocker-switc...5YuNbP&vxp=mtr
thatXJguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 01:58 AM   #29
Herp Derp Jerp
 
salad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Parham, ON
Posts: 18,041

View salad's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I wonder if that's a problem with the photo? The switch itself has four pins on it. The type of switch you just described wouldn't operate the extended idle function since it just needs to ground out the pin.
salad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2017, 07:40 AM   #30
Senior Member
 
wizardpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Nolensville, TN
Posts: 542

View wizardpc's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by salad View Post
I wonder if that's a problem with the photo? The switch itself has four pins on it. The type of switch you just described wouldn't operate the extended idle function since it just needs to ground out the pin.
No, it's just a custom cap on a "standard" aftermarket switch that provides 12v+

You'll need to connect that to a relay and use the relay to ground A12.
wizardpc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rough Idle in gear while stopped - P0432 w/ FF data Blackcherokee290 OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 22 05-15-2016 12:48 PM
FS[GreatLakes]: 784 Upgraded Injectors JeepStephie99 Engines/Tranny/T-Case 13 03-23-2016 10:53 AM
'96 XJ Help - Error Code - Advice GregB58 OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 0 08-28-2015 08:30 AM
Place your bets...How long does it have.. kjdad OEM Cherokee Technical. All factory issues and info go here! 12 08-21-2015 08:11 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.