Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

work done and still waiting to be done

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2015, 01:35 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 4 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0l 6 cylinder
Default work done and still waiting to be done

Hello Everyone,

Not sure if anyone cares or not but this forum lets me write down what I've done and still think about doing. I like any kind of feedback, etc.

I am not a mechanic so sometimes what you all say is over my head especially when you refer to parts I don't know what they are.

Well recently I had a good number of days off work and planned on doing a lot of work on my jeep and van. Well I guess my skill lvl or whatever was not accurate, I have not finished the jeep let alone started my van.

I don't have much left to do on the jeep before I can start driving it again.

Here's what I did, and remember I did the work a couple hours at a time when it was not so hot outside and I was sick and already slow as it is.

Belt replaced (old one though looks good enough to keep in an emergency).

power steering pump- really not sure it was bad but it felt like it even when removed that it was not turning freely.

replaced upper and lower radiator hoses and drained all water out of system and refilled with coolant and water.

did and oil change

replaced trans filter and gasket and fluid.

I also cleaned up the underside of the vehicle so I can see if and where the oil is leaking from. when I had it up on the ramps it appeared the oil was leaking from the oil filter itself right at the crease at the top, not sure if thats at all possible. But if the leak continues then next oil change I'll remove the oil adapter as then its likely that's where its leaking.