Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Terrible grinding noise under console.

Search this Thread

Old 08-07-2013, 04:12 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Terrible grinding noise under console.

Hello.

Please bear with me, as I am not a mechanic. If I left out any key information, let me know and I will make it available. I have a 2002 Grand Cherokee Laredo 4x4 v6 with an automatic transmission. I have ~220k miles on it.

Up until last night my Jeep has been running flawlessly. I change the fluids and do routine maintenance myself as scheduled. I was going to make a quick trip to the store and once I got going to about 40mph and a really terrible grinding noise made its self apparent. It seems to be located underneath the center console.

I immediately turned around and went home fearing an imminent transmission disaster. I checked my transmission fluid and it is still bright red, doesn't smell burnt, and reads at an appropriate level on the dipstick.

It was pretty late, so I went to bed and set my alarm early to do some more troubleshooting.

These are the things I have checked as of this writing:
- Transmission fluid. Seems to be acceptable. Seems to be shifting fine as well. No hesitation, and shifts gears smoothly.
- 4x4 works, noise is still there
- U joints. No play at all in rear drive line. Feels solid. The line coming out of the transfer case feels solid, but may have a very slight amount of play
- I didn't notice anything physically out of place or rubbing where it shouldn't be, but again I'm not a mechanic.
- The transfer case is slightly wet around the seal towards the bottom, but there are no fluid deposits on my driveway.