Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

New to Jeeps and need help please

Search this Thread

Old 06-12-2009, 01:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New to Jeeps and need help please

Hey guys! Ok, so my name is Tim and i am brand new to the whole 4x4 jeep thing. I actually dont own the jeep, my father does. I am posting on his behalf as he is horrible with a computer. Anyway, here is our situation.
My father just bought a 2002 Jeep Cherokee for $300 from a friend of ours. The only problem is that the motor is done. We pulled the timing cover off and was able to pull a small piece of one of the pistons out along with a mangled ring. Now he has been looking for a replacement motor and we are having issues as there are really not alot of them floating around.(By the way this is a 4.0 v6 motor)

So, do you guys know of anyplace where we can pick up a shortblock for this jeep? we havent pulled the whole motor yet to see if the valves are trashed yet. we plan to do this when we both can get away from work.

I was contemplating a idea i had but need yalls help with. I have a 1999 kenne bell s/c mustang gt and have a fully built motor that will be going in the car very soon. What do you thing of putting the 4.6 v8 that i will be pulling out of the car into the jeep? would this work? i know i will need a wiring harness, comp, ect... but what is the tranny rated for? I know they make these conversion kits for the jeep to where you are able to put chevy v8 ect... in them but do not want to if the rest of the drive train will not hold the power. we are not looking to put this thing down the track or anything. But since we have to replace the motor(or atleast the bottom half) mind as well put a v8 in there right?