Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

HELP! Need to remove part of axle in assembly

Search this Thread

Old 05-26-2013, 09:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Exclamation HELP! Need to remove part of axle in assembly

Hey all, new to the forum but not new to jeeps. I have an 02 Grand Cherokee overland with the all time, all wheel drive system. All stock, 139K.
Long story short, i blew my front diff yesterday on my way back to school and had to get towed. Truck still moved but you could hear clunking and all that good stuff.

So being a student, I didnt really have the option to blow several k on a new front end or rebuild it so I asked the guys as the shop what my next best bet would be to get the car back on the road to at least get back to school.

They told me that I could convert the jeep to 2WD and that would get me back. I pulled the front drive shaft and both axles to completely separate the shot front diff from any power. I did notice that I have to put the axle assembly back into the front end to keep the wheel bearings in place.(Didnt do that today and truck spun out, luckily everyone and everything is fine).

I have all new hub assemblies and rotor for the front. My question to any able to help out is;
Is there any way I can disconnect the axle part of the axle assembly and reinstall just the part that will hold the wheel bearing in?

When I pulled both axles, there were rubber boots on them. I went ahead and got those off but now Im looking at a C-clip on the axle where it meets the CV joint.

Is there anyway I can get this dang clip off? Any tips or tricks? I have tried just about everything.

The end plan is to remove both of the axles from the assembly so they dont spin the broken diff and then reinstall everything making it a 2WD truck for now.