Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

Amp Gauge Question

Search this Thread

Old 08-30-2009, 07:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2
Default Amp Gauge Question

Hi all,
I am new to CherokeeForum.com and hopefully this is the correct format to ask a question about my 95 Grand Cherokee. It has the 5.2 V8 and is my wife`s war wagon.
I used it yesterday and noticed a slight sluggish start,but did kick in. I did what i had to do and in the course of the day had to start again with heavy start. When started and driving I now looked at amp gauge and noticed it running before half mark. Half mark is 14 . When I rev it will move up to half or the 14 amps.Shouldn`t it be running more from 14 and above normally. A more positive charge?
Batt. Terminals look a bit corroded.
Any help appreciated.
RedLgs14
NY
Old 08-30-2009, 11:42 AM
CF Veteran

Received 482 Likes on 413 Posts
Year: 1986
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.3L with headers and full 3" exhaust system

Red

First thing, that is a volt meter. Not a big thing, but it has a different function than an amp gauge. All it does is monitor how many volts the alternator or battery is putting out. An amp gauge, my personal preference tells you whether or not a battery is charging or discharging, which is better information. But for some reason, you can't get an amp gauge that goes over 60 amps. Nowadays, it is common for an alternator to be in the hundred amp range, so we have volt meters.