Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

'99 WJ (new to me) brake questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-28-2013, 10:43 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: '99
Model: Grand Cherokee
Default '99 WJ (new to me) brake questions

Last week I bought a '99 WJ limited, which I'm really liking. I had an XJ some years ago, so I'm not new to Jeeps, but I am new to the 4.7 V8.

I also have a 2006 Chevy TrailBlazer.

One thing that I'm not sure what to make of is the brakes.

I wouldn't describe them as "spongy" or that they "fade", just that they take a lot more pressure and pedal travel than I'm used to.

Driving my TrailBlazer, if I happen to be taking a short trip down the street and I'm barefoot, I can literally stop the truck using only my big toe. The brakes grab early and with light pressure.

With the WJ, the pedal has to travel a good 2-3 inches before anything really starts to happen, then as it slows down it seems to need more and more pressure. When I tested "panic stopping" in an empty parking lot, I can go from 35 to 0 VERY quickly. I know the brakes work and will stop the Jeep. I'm just surprised at how different the pedals are between the two vehicles.

This weekend I bled the brake lines, which helped. It looked like there was some air in there. I realized after the fact that I did them in basically the opposite (wrong) order. I started from the front drivers side then did front passenger. I wasn't even sure if I was going to do the back, but later went ahead and did. I took the wheels off and found the brake pads to be basically non-existent, so I changed those too while I was in there. I don't know exactly how much fluid I got out, but probably a half-liter bottle and a half full at least. Reservoir was kept topped off the entire time. I bought the BIG bottle of DOT3, and used almost all of it.

My questions: