Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

97 GC issues

Old 03-16-2016, 11:39 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 97 GC issues

So im new to the whole jeep thing but not to tinkering with cars. I bought my jeep last week knowing that it dies sometimes.Its a 97 Grand Cherokee 5.2. Other than that its a solid rig. So it has actually been driving pretty well but yesterday it died while warming up and hasnt started since. Im currently working throught the 12 things to do but i thought someone here might have some insight. I know the previous owner changed out the PCM and it was running fine but then suddenly died again. I swaped the relays around to see if the fuel pump was the issue but its turning on and i can smell gas when i keep cranking it over. I sprayed starting fluid into the TB and still wouldnt crank. I havent checked spark yet since i havent had much time to mess with it yet. But any ideas on where i should keep looking? Thanks
Old 03-16-2016, 05:09 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts
Year: 2000 XJ Sport & WJ Laredo
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Welcome to CF!

I'm thinking ignition coil breaking down when hot and now not working at all. JMHO however. Bad ignition wires can cause the coil to overheat from internal arcing.

The fact that you can smell fuel while cranking shows me the PCM, CPS and ASD relay are functioning.

Last edited by dave1123; 03-16-2016 at 05:11 PM.
Old 03-16-2016, 06:39 PM

Originally Posted by dave1123
Welcome to CF!

I'm thinking ignition coil breaking down when hot and now not working at all. JMHO however. Bad ignition wires can cause the coil to overheat from internal arcing.

The fact that you can smell fuel while cranking shows me the PCM, CPS and ASD relay are functioning.