Stock Grand Cherokee Tech. All ZJ/WJ/WK Non-modified/stock questions go here! ZJ (93-98), WJ (99-04), WK (05+)
All ZJ/WJ/WK specific tech questions asked here!

1997 Grand 4.0 Idle problem

Old 01-15-2011, 09:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 1997 Grand 4.0 Idle problem

Hello guys,

As I am a newb I need to ask this question. During the winter my Cherokee has problems starting/idling. My first problem is that it will not start right away, finally after getting out my stanley port jumper I can get it started however I pump the gas once fully and hold it half way. While doing this you can see black smoke/sut exit the exhaust pipe. The real problem is that when I release the gas pedal the Jeep will die and loose all power. I have managed to get it running as when I go out the next day it will start right up. I had my buddy come over who is a novice and we started the jeep now this time the vehicle would idle at about 2000 rpm. we then rev the engine a lil and it lowers to about 1500 rpm. we put the vehicle in drive and park and so forth and while its in gear the rpm will drop to about 1000. we then take off the air filter housing from the throttle body and persist to look inside with the vehicle running as it is clear in the hole we see a cut in the side so we cover it with our finger and the vehicle dies understandably however on the back side towards the passanger compartment there is some sensor with a white 4 prong plug with the vehicle running we unplug this and plug it back in and the vehicle idles at 500 approx rpm. after fixing while trying to pull out it runs fine until you accelerate a little and then release the gas it dies again.

any thoughts or comments are greatly appreciated and i will maybe try to make a youtube video/ pictures of the cord location of disconnection that made it idle right again.

thanks again
Old 01-16-2011, 12:11 AM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee