Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Right Hand Drive UK-spec Turbo 4.0L Overlander

Search this Thread

Old 11-15-2017, 05:57 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Talking Right Hand Drive UK-spec Turbo 4.0L Overlander

Hello folks.

Been on this forum awhile, but this is my first build thread as I wanted to document this build from start to finish. My wife and I are Minnesota born and raised, currently stationed in Germany, and I picked up a project to keep me busy for the next 2-3 years. I found a 1998 Jeep XJ Cherokee in desperate need of love from a gentleman locally, and bought it with the intention of just using it as a winter beater to toss skis on top and head down to the Alps. Well, one thing lead to another, and after finding the inline-6 4.0L had more bottles of stop-leak in the cooling system than coolant, I decided to pull the engine and restore this XJ to roadworthy status...with a turbo... and a slight lift....and tires that can take me to far out places....with bumpers front and rear.....and onboard air.....dual batteries....well you guys own Jeeps - you know how it goes.

Though this is my first turbo build from the ground up, it is not my first turbo project. I was introduced to forced induction during the overhaul of my last project, a '97 F350 Powerstroke which started as a simple fixer-upper and ended up as a fully rebuilt 7.3L, aftermarket turbo, injectors, intercooler from a Superduty, billet trans rebuild and all the necessary supporting mods to pull ~21,650lbs across the US with relative ease. This is what started my love of boost.