Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Project "Wifes Bane"

Search this Thread

Old 11-08-2010, 09:36 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Project "Wifes Bane"

Guys,

I got a new to me cherokee last year, and have been having a blast working on it. Breaking stuff, and then having to work on it again.

I should have taken a pic of it the first day i got it. The XJ was a fleet truck from Con Edison in upstate New York. It was white with a powder blue stripe up the side. Bone stock with nothing but a 4.0, auto and manual everything, 78k miles

I paid $2200 for it.

It had been sitting for a few years by the time I got it. Needed inspection, everything rubber was trash and it leaked from every gasket I could find. Since it was an upstate new york truck the suspension was pretty rusted

Perfect!!!

Old 11-08-2010, 09:41 AM

I am not a mechanic by any stretch of the imagination. I have been working on motorcycles for years so I have seen a wrench or two, but this is all a learning experience for me.

Of course like everyone else I am on a tight budget, and this is my DD so it needs to run well, and I can't have it off the road for more than a day or two.

By the time I got to taking this photo I had already replaced belts, fluids, brakes. did a tune up, and painted that god awful blue stripe black. I added front and rear recovery points and wheeled it!!!

No lift, no armor, and bald as hell street tires!!!!
Old 11-08-2010, 01:29 PM

Year: 1998

That's what's up. When I first got my xj I wheeled it bone stock for about 4 or 5 months. During that time all my friends with their daddy's trucks used to bag on me cause i had a "***** little jeep". HA! I ended up pulling all of their big *** trucks out of the mud and plowing new trails for them to go on.
Old 11-08-2010, 04:08 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 2002
Model: Grand Cherokee (WJ)
Engine: 4.7L