Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Building An XJ For My Wife

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2017, 09:33 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Building An XJ For My Wife

So, I picked up this '99 XJ to build for my Wife Last weekend. I have a '13 Tacooma that I've been tinkering on for the past 3 years. My Wife loves going to, and driving my truck at, the local off road park (Rausch Creek). I figure it's time to build her her own rig.

The XJ spent most of its life in AZ and is free from the typical NE rot. It came with a Rubicon express 3.5" lift. Super Flex coils up front with LCA drop brackets and internally rotating LCA and UCA, full Super Flex rear leaf pack, ARB lockers front and rear, 4.56 re-gear, and new 33x10.5 KM2s.

The lockers haven't been plumbed, so I ordered the small ARB compressor to run them. I already have the big twin compressor in my truck with a 2.5 gallon tank for OBA and to run my lockers. Since we'll be wheeling together, I didn't see any reason to do an expensive OBA setup on the second rig.

Right now the XJ is up on stands in my garage getting ready for a Serious Off Road 1 ton steering kit, adjustable track bar, chromoly axles with full circle clips, and front and rear brake job. I have a bunch of boring tune up and maintenance parts sitting on the work bench right now.

The plan for the near future is to make the XJ safe and reliable, do the one Ton upgrade, install the compressor and get the lockers working, put the chromoly axles in, and go from there.

Next up, I need to look into cutting and folding the rear punch weld. The front was pretty nicely cut when I bought the XJ.
Attached Thumbnails Building An XJ For My Wife-img_2749.jpg   Building An XJ For My Wife-img_2750.jpg   Building An XJ For My Wife-img_2753.jpg   Building An XJ For My Wife-img_2748.jpg   Building An XJ For My Wife-img_2747.jpg