Jeep Builds Make your own jeep build thread here, discuss and view jeeps here. All Jeep models are welcome here.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

'95 2dr XJ Restomod "Brutus"

Search this Thread

Old 03-01-2018, 12:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Default '95 2dr XJ Restomod "Brutus"

Meet Brutus.

I am the third owner of Brutus. A buddy of mine came across it on Craigslist a week ago. He graciously decided to pass it on to me. I had to swoop in to buy it. I previously had a '99 2dr XJ and regretted selling it. So seeing a low mileage 2dr for cheap. Almost too good to be true. I had the carfax run at work (I am a Jaguar Land Rover Tech) and found it only had 2 previous owners.

On the top side Brutus is clean. Some surface rust along the roof rails, but no signs of body work, no dents, not rot in the rockers.

The underside is a little crusty but no major rot. Judging but the carfax, the last owner had it parked the majority of the time. My guess is it was just a "snow" vehicle.

The interior is pretty dirty. But in decent shape. Minus the console, not sure what caught fire there, but...

Now, my plan. This is not my daily commuter. I have a nice Jetta for that. I am going to build this for long weekend adventures and road trips. A nice keep it clean, (style wise, it will get dirty), keep it simple, and try to keep it in budget, build. I will own this Jeep for many years and drive it for many miles in hopefully many states.

The majority of the work will be done at work on a lift after hours. But some will also be done at home in my driveway.

The Short List
  • Deep clean EVERYTHING
  • Paint bumpers
  • Replace the Brakes (Front and Rear)
  • Sand and prime the roof rails/roof
  • Cluster upgrade
  • 97+ console?
  • Tune Up
  • Diff fluid (Front and Rear)
  • T-case fluid
  • Fix rear wiper
  • POR-15 underside
  • Fix whatever else is broken
  • Remove the purple tint.
  • Headliner recover
  • Turn the tow bar into recovery points