North Atlantic Maine, New Hampshire, New York, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New Jersey, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Washington DC

Hello from a Nutmegger living in Boston (And anyone in Boston with a green XJ?)

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2010, 05:36 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L HO
Default Hello from a Nutmegger living in Boston (And anyone in Boston with a green XJ?)

Hello all!

Been lurking for a while, but my this is my first time posting on CF. I saw that someone else from CT had made a post introducing them self, and was going to post in there, but decided not to hijack his thread.

Hartford area resident residing in Boston, Mass here. Only about a week left up here till I'm back in the nutmeg state for 8 months.

I've got a '94 Cherokee Sport I inherited from my parents, had brake issues five years back (total loss of brake pressure, ended up going through the garage door...), and since has sat in our driveway since. I'm going to be back in Ct for a few months, and won't have anything to do after work, I'm undertaking the project of getting it running again.

Long story short, when I moved it into the garage a few weeks ago to start making a list of what needs to be done, I found:
  • two holes in the front left and rear right brake lines,
  • rocker panels have rusted all the way through (found this out while putting it on jack stands... got covered in rust)
  • quarter panel skirts are rust with black paint on them.
  • the hinge completely sheared off on the drivers side door.
  • Headliner sagging
  • Loose transfer case linkage, pops out of 4-lo