Search this Thread

Old 10-06-2013, 01:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Salt Lake City - Need a Hand on fixing the transmission leak

So as I just got this rig:
http://www.rme4x4.com/showthread.php...96-XJ-New-Born

Apart from dirty trany fluid - brownish,
A few days ago, I noticed some minor leak from near the oil pan, gasket, and rear main seal.
I went to a reputable local shop for suggestion.
They told me I can flush the trany fluid, but if I want to fix the leak, I may as well flush it when dropping the oil pan, and replace the gasket.
For the latter, they quote me a $100 something for parts, but a sky high price for labor.

I'm a total newbie to cars, besides a grad student, who can't afford to fix it in shops.
So I'm posting it here, to see if there are folks, with experience, who are kind enough to give me a hand.
I have almost all the sockets, tools, but only a bottle jack. I can pay some labor, but not much...
This is the only, but a big problem that prevents me from wheeling next weekend.

Somebody Help me out.. I will appreciate it tremendously.

PS: Will it cause damage if I just "fix" it by regular refill, and let it leak?
Old 10-07-2013, 06:01 AM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1999
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by TylerU
So as I just got this rig:
http://www.rme4x4.com/showthread.php...96-XJ-New-Born

Apart from dirty trany fluid - brownish,
A few days ago, I noticed some minor leak from near the oil pan, gasket, and rear main seal.
I went to a reputable local shop for suggestion.
They told me I can flush the trany fluid, but if I want to fix the leak, I may as well flush it when dropping the oil pan, and replace the gasket.
For the latter, they quote me a $100 something for parts, but a sky high price for labor.

I'm a total newbie to cars, besides a grad student, who can't afford to fix it in shops.