Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

XJ radio dead/speaker buzz/fuse box noise

Search this Thread

Old 01-02-2017, 05:54 AM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default XJ radio dead/speaker buzz/fuse box noise

Hey guys,

So I am new to the world of Jeep - I recently purchased a 2000 Cherokee XJ.

I decided to do an oil change and switch out the plugs, when working on electrics I disconnected the negative battery terminal, but it seems I've none more harm than good.

After I finished, I switched on the ignition the radio was totally dead, and (the only working speaker) the driver side speaker would buzz like crazy, however if I switched the headlights on, it would go away, but radio still dead??? (Radio was working before this)

Also (I've had this happen since I got the vehicle) when I switch ignition on or off there is a weird noise from the fuse box in the car. This doesnt seem to do anything negative, but I am curious.

I have checked most of the fuses manually, there was one blown, I replaced it, but it didn't make a difference. I've taken the radio out and everything looks fine and I've reset the computer.

I've made a video, please check it out and if you have any ideas, please let me know - link below.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QSqr...ature=youtu.be
Old 01-02-2017, 06:29 AM

Received 12 Likes on 8 Posts

Sounds like you have a bad ground. Since you disconnected and re-connected the negative on the battery, I would go back and check that. Make sure the cable and the terminal is good. If there is corrosion at the terminal clean it off. Pay attention to where the wire is crimped. Also double check the fuse for the radio.

https://www.cherokeeforum.com/how-to...diagram-398208

Last edited by mikesignal; 01-02-2017 at 06:31 AM.
Old 01-02-2017, 08:23 AM
CF Veteran