Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Temp gauge

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2019, 01:18 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Temp gauge

I got a 95 XJ with a 4.0 a few weeks ago. I knew there were issues so I expected work. Just replaced all the pistons, head gasket, oil pan gasket, new sparks, new water pump, new thermostat, and lost of littlecramp. My damn thermo gauge still doesnt want to budge. I'm not a mechanic, with the help of youtube I can do it and with my buddy who is an actual mechanic lol. But any thought on why she ain't working? I'm gonna replace the fuse tomorrow. But would like some thoughts and or comments
Old 03-28-2019, 01:48 PM
CF Veteran

Received 21 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

It's either the gauge or the sending unit. It's easy enough to test the sending unit (the sensor near the firewall on top of the head) with a multi-meter. Doubt you'll have any luck with the fuse, and if it is the fuse there's a reason it's blowing.
Old 03-28-2019, 01:50 PM

We put a new sending unit in it already.
Old 03-28-2019, 01:56 PM
gat

Received 9 Likes on 9 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L L6 PowerTech (stock)

There is a sending unit in the thermostat housing which controls everything else but the gauge in the dash. The gauge in the dash is controlled by the sending unit in the rear of the block.

Last edited by gat; 03-28-2019 at 02:06 PM.
Old 03-28-2019, 02:19 PM
CF Veteran

Received 164 Likes on 139 Posts
Year: 1995
Engine: 4.0L

Originally Posted by gat
There is a sending unit in the thermostat housing which controls everything else but the gauge in the dash. The gauge in the dash is controlled by the sending unit in the rear of the block.