Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Sway Bar to Coil Spring Clearance

Search this Thread

Old 09-19-2009, 06:22 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 98
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0
Default Sway Bar to Coil Spring Clearance

Hello guys, I just finished with installing the front 2" lift on my Cherokee XJ. Everything went good except for one thing. I have 1" or better clearance between the right sway bar link and the coil spring on the right side. The left side is all but touching. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
Old 09-19-2009, 07:12 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1995
Default Trac bar?

I am no expert so guys if I am wrong here feel free to chime in but it sounds like a case for a new trac bar.

When you move the axle further away from your "frame" you change the angle of your trac bar thus pulling your axle over closer to the mount of your trac bar aka the drivers side. Hope this makes sense.
Old 09-19-2009, 07:13 AM

Year: 1995

But we are goin to need to see pics of this new lift to make sure! haha
Old 09-19-2009, 08:23 AM
CF Veteran

Received 6 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 2001

Originally Posted by Cherokee33
Hello guys, I just finished with installing the front 2" lift on my Cherokee XJ. Everything went good except for one thing. I have 1" or better clearance between the right sway bar link and the coil spring on the right side. The left side is all but touching. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated.
You may need longer sway bar links or a relocation bracket that RE makes. Snap a side view picture of the sway bar link and coil spring so we can see the angle of the sway bar itself.

I ran into this problem too but with a bigger lift. I installed longer links and it fixed it.

But it's weird that it's happening with a 2" lift. That's a minor height.