Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Stuck in 4 Full or maybe not....

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2013, 01:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Engine: I6
Default Stuck in 4 Full or maybe not....

Hi everyone,

I'm new here and I'm also new to XJ ownership. I just picked up a 2000 XJ Sport with 180K on the clock.

I'm having a few issues I'd really like some help with.

1. The 4 Full light won't go off. The lever says 2WD, but the light stays on. I checked out the linkages and had a friend move the lever while I was under the car and everything is moving that I can see....but the light stays on. I've tried backing up and shifting on some gravel but no dice. How do I tell if I'm really stuck in 4full or if the light is just on the fritz?

2. I thought that it might be a TC fluid issue, so I tried to detatch the hex wrench type full plugs but they are firmly stuck. I sprayed some PB Blaster on there but still no joy. Any ideas how I can free them?

Thanks!
Old 08-24-2013, 10:44 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

If you can see the linkage on the case move with the lever, it's likely just a bad position switch.
Old 08-24-2013, 10:51 PM
CF Veteran

Received 18 Likes on 16 Posts
Year: My Jeep is a GMC

"Any ideas how I can free them?"

You'll find the following procedure very useful when working on your Jeep:
Heat and lots of it tempered with a little rage .
Old 08-24-2013, 10:55 PM
Seasoned Member

Model: Grand Cherokee

If its in 4 wheel then the front axles will most likely bind while hard turning on dry pavement, provided they are ujoint and not cv
Old 08-26-2013, 09:24 PM

Default Thanks everyone