Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Stalls in reverse??? Please help!

Old 06-10-2008, 08:42 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation Stalls in reverse??? Please help!

Hi All,
I'm a pretty good mechanic, but I'm new to Jeeps and the quirks that they have...
I have a '96 Cherokee sport, 3" lift and 31-10.50 tires. My motor blew up right after I bought it, so I had it replaced with the motor from a 97 Wrangler. It has been running GREAT. No smoke, blowby, noises, or oil burn.
However, I decided to run some fuel system treatment through it. I put it in a full tank, and last night (by then I was on 1\4 tank) When I was driving on the interstate (about 70mph) It would buck like the motor died, then came back and ran fine... It did this a few times randomly, so I slowed down a little, but it still did it randomly. I went to the pub, had a pint, and then went back to my jeep and when I cranked it up, it died within three seconds, cranked right back up then did the same thing again. The third time it stayed running fine. But when I put it in reverse It dies instantly. Like I turned the ignition switch off. Cranks right back up. If I put it in drive it runs fine. But thus far I have yet to get it to stay running in reverse. even if I let it roll backwards on a hill then put it in reverse so the motor doesn't have to slow down. If I feather the throttle, I can make it keep running, but it bucks and you can't get anywhere. It seriously feels just like It would if I were to turn the switch on and off. I'm going to replace the fuel filter today, and I'll clean the IAC valve tonight, but I'm almost thinking electrical.... But everything still works with the ignition still on and the gear selector in reverse. So I don't really know... Any suggestions? Cause I can't come up with a good reason for it to start this all of a sudden...