Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

something happened when i tried

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2009, 11:13 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1991
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4 cylinder
Default something happened when i tried

i went out this morning and tried to start the jeep. i put the key in and turned it half way the dash lit up and all i left it like that for a couple seconds maybe.. 4-5 and then tried to turn it over all i got was a soft pop sound and everything went out. i turned the key all the way off and then turned it to half key and nothing came on, no beeps no nothing so i tried to turn it over and nothing. anyone know what is wrong? i have looked ant all the fuses which i have never done before and i found fuses in there with copper wrapped around them. and fuses with wires like the black wire from the cd player wrapped around the 15 and pushed in. i have never had a problem starting the jeep till today. can someone help me out?
Old 07-11-2009, 11:22 PM
G_P

Year: 1993
Engine: 4.0 H.O

the previous owner bypassed the fuses because something was causing them to blow. that pop was probably some electrical component burning up because it no longer had a fuse to protect it.

If you just bought this recently I would be going back and paying a visit to the guy that sold it to you.

remove all the fuses and take the wire off them then put them back in and see which ones blow. then its going to be a lot of troubleshooting to find the problems.
Old 07-12-2009, 01:48 AM

Year: 1997
Engine: 4.0 Straight Six