Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Replacing stock suspension. Question/Help

Search this Thread

Old 03-08-2017, 07:56 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Default Replacing stock suspension. Question/Help

Hey everyone.
Let me state that I am a relatively inexperienced with the XJ. I'm a simple backyard mechanic and try to do all my own work. Its a 2001 sport and I am the second owner. Its been well maintained as far as the engine goes but the suspension has been neglected. I intend on using the car for daily commute to work and a few trips a year to go camping and snowboarding in VT/ME. (I'm in western CT) Ride comfort is important but being able to get around some trails and the heavy snow is also high on my priority list. I already know what tires I want but being new to this jeep world i wanted to get some opinions about suspension.

After reading on here about sagging leaf springs i went and measured mine. not only is the distance from wheel center to fender only 16 inches but the leaves themselves are as straight as an arrow and the shocks are also totally blown out.

Im on a tight budget due to my wedding that i'm paying for this fall but I don't want to buy replacement parts that will only last a few months.
where/what brand makes the best bang for the buck stock replacement items. or is it more beneficial to go for a all in one lift and I don't feel that an add a leaf kit will benefit me due to the springs being so dead.

much thanks in advance for any and all advice that comes this way..
Old 03-08-2017, 08:15 AM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1999
Engine: 4.0

A lot of people go with the Dorman 929301 leaf because they are a good price and the bushing come installed.

http://www.rockauto.com/en/catalog/j...af+spring,7544

I used them and they brought my rear up about an inch and a half.