Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Removing Undercoat - Chemical/Mechanical?

Search this Thread

Old 08-17-2018, 04:42 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default Removing Undercoat - Chemical/Mechanical?

Hello everyone! Newbie here. Bought a '96 XJ. Pretty great shape, mostly stock (poor man's lift with add-a-leaf and spacers). Paint's in great shape, drives wonderfully, was well maintained, good compression, good cooling, no mechanical issues, ya-de-ya. My first task is tackling the underside and all that dreaded rust from 20 years in the Northeast winters. First owner coated it with what appears to be a very thick, very hard matte black undercoating. Looks like it might have been rolled on/brushed from how thick and textured it is (rear axle pic for reference). It's very resistant to chipping and peeling from some basic poking n' prodding with a flathead. Problem is, there are also some shoddy patches covering what were two sizeable rust spots on the unibody rails in the rear, and I can see hints of rust here and there underneath where some of the coating has flaked or fell off. I'm the kinda guy who needs to see the real **** underneath so I can cut and weld where needed, followed by wire wheel, proper rust conversion and undercoating, but that's a topic for another day.

Any tips on how to best tackle removal? Minor solvents don't make any dent in the stuff, I've been debating between an oscillating tool, heat, and scraping, or using aircraft stripper. Any inputs on what type of undercoating this may appear to be and the best approach are appreciated.
Old 08-18-2018, 12:14 AM
CF Veteran

Received 89 Likes on 78 Posts
Year: 1996
Engine: 4.0L