Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

removed door trim, unpleasant surprise

Search this Thread

Old 05-25-2010, 04:08 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default removed door trim, unpleasant surprise

took off the door trim today and it appears the PO had actually drilled in screws from the inside of the door to hold the trim on in various places when the adhesive had begun to come off. why i have no idea, and i didn't notice it when i bought the vehicle a few months ago. there is also some plastic black ***** that is not adhesive under one of the pieces of trim.

here's some pics of the damage. i'm totally new to the whole backyard mechanic thing and don't know what to do about the screw holes through the doors or the black plastic that's adhered to the body. any advice? i'm totally confused as to why the PO would screw the moulding in like that

screw

hole

screws out

black *****
Old 05-25-2010, 04:10 PM
CF Veteran

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 1999

Looks like it was a red neck fix lol
Old 05-25-2010, 04:15 PM
Registered Users

I say put the trim back on, so you dont have to worry about it.
Old 05-25-2010, 04:26 PM

Year: 1996 two-door SE
Engine: 4.0

Touch up the holes with paint and use something like silicone caulk to fill the holes and keep water out. Reinstall the bodyside molding using emblem adhesive tape.

Alternatively, you can place a small fiberglass/resin patch on the inside of the door skin. When dry, fill the hole on the outside with body filler. Sand filler and have color matched paint touch up done. You'll never see the old holes.
Old 05-25-2010, 04:29 PM

Year: 1993

Originally Posted by jmm0122
I say put the trim back on, so you dont have to worry about it.
Sure if your lazy and want your truck to look like EDIT: poo.