Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

oil on top of engine

Search this Thread

Old 11-23-2018, 01:43 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0 I6
Question oil on top of engine

hey all, 2000 sport - stock, 150,000 mi

recently i've been noticing the top of my engine has been looking fairly 'wet', more so near the end of the head rather than the front. also near the bolts on the side it looks like its been wet there as well. is this the dreaded cracked head i've heard about on these models? the vacuum thing and that back moves pretty easy so I don't know if that has anything to do with it. is this cause for concern? sorry if this is completely normal and silly, this is my first vehicle so i'm still learning about all this stuff

thanks!
Old 11-23-2018, 01:48 PM

Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0

Mine was doing that also. Found that the oil filler cap was not sealing good anymore & let oil get out on the valve cover. I replaced the cap, and it dried up !
Old 11-23-2018, 02:28 PM

Originally Posted by steelybill
Mine was doing that also. Found that the oil filler cap was not sealing good anymore & let oil get out on the valve cover. I replaced the cap, and it dried up !
hopefully it's just that, i'll grab a new cap tomorrow (mines broken anyhow) and see if that does it - thanks!
Old 11-23-2018, 05:57 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1989 & 1990
Engine: 4.0

Clean it up first and after that start monitoring to see where the leak(s) are.
Old 11-23-2018, 07:09 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1992
Engine: 4.o

a good chance that the seals on the oil cap, and the CCV ports have dried up, i have had the same issue as well, i replaced the oil cap and reseal the other two with some sealant.
Old 11-26-2018, 12:07 PM
Old fart with a wrench

Received 723 Likes on 628 Posts