Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Is this normal?

Search this Thread

Old 01-08-2018, 09:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee(SJ)
Default Is this normal?

Noticed loud grind/knocking noise from left hub (front drivers side) after using 4x4 through deep mud hole and when I went back to 2x4 is when the noise start. I figured the wheel hub was going to lock up so limped it home and made it. The noise did smooth out the closer I got home (45 minute drive). I assume the hub needs replacement, but I took the wheel off and there was mild play in the hub bearing. I did notice the insertion point of the front axle and looked like something was missing in the housing where the shaft inserts. The passenger side has a plastic piece whereas the driving side has nothing. Is this normal and should I be concened? I am very new to jeeps and was curious. I have not checked the fluid level in the front diff yet but plan on working on it more in the next couple of days.

Old 01-08-2018, 10:17 AM
CF Veteran

Received 480 Likes on 412 Posts
Year: 1986
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.3L with headers and full 3" exhaust system

I think you should take the diff cover off and check the insides. I see signs of both diff seals leaking, which doesn't take much to conclude it is low on oil. Probably where your grinding is coming from
Old 01-08-2018, 10:20 AM

I will check that tonight. When I jack the truck up and spin the wheel it does not make any noises. I will add fluid and see if that helps.
Old 01-08-2018, 10:28 AM
CF Veteran

Received 234 Likes on 207 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee(XJ)
Engine: I6 4.0L