Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Newbie with a Clutch Problem

Search this Thread

Old 03-26-2009, 02:10 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Newbie with a Clutch Problem

A newbie here and I have a problem with my 96 SE. I pulled up to a stoplight the other day and could not get my tranny (5 speed) out of gear and found the clutch had not engaged although the pedal was pushed to the floor. I had to hold my brake to keep from creeping into the intersection. Long story short, I believe the problem is in the master or slave cylinder but the fluid level is up. Question: How can I get back on the road? Thank you all for your patience and any help.

JdoubleU
Old 03-26-2009, 02:23 PM

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

How far on the road do you need to drive? You could pump the clutch and force it back to neutral. Once you get it in nuetral just shift with no clutch, thats syncros are for.
Old 03-26-2009, 03:15 PM

I was luckily only a couple blocks from home and got there ok. I am just wondering how to proceed from here. I have read that the 96 hydraulic system is not serviceable. I am wondering if there might be a workaround without replacing the hydraulic 'unit', if that is in fact my problem.
Old 03-26-2009, 04:28 PM

Received 3 Likes on 1 Post

dude i feel your pain! i had major troubles with my clutch system last year, resulting in 3 new slaves, 3 new masters, and 1 new clutch lol...