Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

New member! Hello!

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2010, 06:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default New member! Hello!

Hey guys! I am new to Jeeps and new to offroading and just thought I would join this forum for more info on my girlfriend's Cherokee! I have some friends with Jeeps so all my knowledge is based on what I have been able to gather from a few light offroading trips.

My girlfriend has a white 1989 Jeep Cherokee Limited with 245,000 miles that she bought from the original owner/ family friend for $2000.

The owner was extremely **** about maintaining his Jeep and has had the vehicle dealer serviced since new and has records of every modification and repair ever performed on the vehicle, even down to a log on every fill up of gas (where, cost, mileage) and every oil change (filter type, oil weight, price). It is very relieving to know we have a well maintained vehicle! He had planned to build it for it own offroading pleasure but never followed through on actually doing it. Then he got into road racing and bought a Mini Cooper

It has the Dana 35 rear axle but I am not sure if it came with an LSD or not? I am pretty sure the owner had not gotten to the point of upgrading any of the gearing in the diffs and I know it doesn't have the SYE kit yet either.

The modifications on the vehicle consists of:

Rubicon Express 3.5" Super Flex lift
Old Man Emu Nitro Charger shocks and stabilizer
I believe an aftermarket skid plate for the front
Aftermarket 32 gallon off road fuel tank
K&N Air Filter
Borla SS header, high flow cat, and cat back exhaust
Mopar performance ECU
15 inch TJ Wrangler wheels with 31X10.50X15 Super Swamper TSL Bias ply
Some sort of tow hooks coming through slots in the bumpers
Capsule style front headlight conversion