Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

The new guy has metal in his oil pan!!

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2018, 07:39 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Default The new guy has metal in his oil pan!!

Hello fellow XJ owners. I purchased my first XJ about two months back. Its a RUST FREE 2001 4x4 XJ Sport with 179,000 on the clock. I got it from a fella that bought it back in 02. That being said I am a garage mechanic and do all my own work. (I also have a 1992 Cummins that I work on aswell) So the XJ had a couple of small oil leaks that I've began to tackle. Oil filter adapter o-rings, valve cover gasket, oil pan gasket and rear main seal. Upon draining the oil and removing the pan I got right to cleaning it. Right near the oil drain, in what looked like built up grime, were a couple large chunks of metal accompanied by several smaller fragments. The fragments DO stick to a magnet. I can not see an visible signs of breakage in the crank area. My oil pressure has been a solid 50 going down the road and it has a brand new sending unit. No milky oil. No knocking that is blatantly noticeable. The only red flag I've ever had was after a 30min commute doing about 65mph with some stop and go traffic mixed in I pulled into a lot to grab a bite to eat. I had the XJ off for about 5min, when I turned it back on it idled very rough at about 500 RPM. I gave it a couple revs and let it idle back down and it seemed fine. Discovering these chunks has me VERY spooked. I was planning to do the head gasket after these simple repairs. I have the intentions to fix the minor issues with this thing and drive it for a long while. If anyone can provide an insight as to what I should do that would be VERY VERY helpful!!! Thank you all!

Last edited by XJ_Lemp; 12-07-2018 at 06:02 PM.
Old 12-06-2018, 07:54 PM