Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

new to the forum, please help.2001 cracked head

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2012, 10:38 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default new to the forum, please help.2001 cracked head

i have a 2001 xj with a cracked head. I've been reading a lot of threads on hear about aftermarket heads and was wondering which is the best deal for the money? J&C enterprises pops up quite a bit but it looks like they are a rebuilt head.I'm nervous about it because there are a lot of negative feedback in here on reman heads not being that much better than the one that is cracked now.. I'm new to this and plan on driving this jeep for a long time and really don't want to go through this more than once. I am intending on rebuilding the entire engine before i reinstall any head and just need to know if there is actually an aftermarket head that is a good one and not remanufactured. Any input would be appreciated...
Old 03-30-2012, 11:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Engine: 4.0 Litre

For what its worth, I personally went with Clearwater cylinder heads in FL. Good people, and they stand behind their product. $425 to my door (last feb.)
Old 03-30-2012, 11:19 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Year: 2000
Engine: 4.0 high output, Alabama Cylinder head, 60mm bored TB

Your worry about reman heads is justified. Sometimes the remans are just the same 0331 head, and end up cracking down the road. If replacing the head, I'd definitely go with a new one. A few companies now sell heads that are "beefed up" in the required areas. I have an Alabama Cylinder head on my Cherokee and it has been great so far, with over 40k miles.

My buddy just bought one off ebay for his 2000 XJ, this one:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/NEW-JEEP-CHE...item27c54ba125