Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Looking to buy a jeep...

Search this Thread

Old 11-28-2009, 07:23 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default Looking to buy a jeep...

Hello, looking for any help I can get here.

I'm a college student lacking funds. I don't intend on turning my future jeep into any sort of off-road machine like I see alot of you guys do, I just want a daily driver.

I'm trading in my cougar, I'm done driving fast and just want something a big more comfertable. I think I'll get around 2k for the coug, and can throw in a little more, so my price range is somewhere aruond 4k.

I've been searching autotrader, and it appears I can get a cherokee or grandcherokee with around 90-100k miles and maybe as new as 2003. I'd prefer to not getting anything older then 1998 or so.

My questions are what will the maintenance be like on a vehicle like this? Are there common problems? How many more miles can I expect my jeep to go before its gotta go to the shop every month? Any other advice would be great. Thanks.
Old 11-28-2009, 08:59 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1998
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by umdterp87
Hello, looking for any help I can get here.

I'm a college student lacking funds. I don't intend on turning my future jeep into any sort of off-road machine like I see alot of you guys do, I just want a daily driver.

I'm trading in my cougar, I'm done driving fast and just want something a big more comfertable. I think I'll get around 2k for the coug, and can throw in a little more, so my price range is somewhere aruond 4k.

I've been searching autotrader, and it appears I can get a cherokee or grandcherokee with around 90-100k miles and maybe as new as 2003. I'd prefer to not getting anything older then 1998 or so.