Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

I can't find any repair information on 96 xj country

Search this Thread

Old 09-20-2017, 02:27 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default I can't find any repair information on 96 xj country

First off, I'm new to Cherokee Forum so I might be in the wrong place. I have a 96 Cherokee country that has a little more than your average wear. It sat in a field for at least 2 years. Anyway, I can't find any repair manuals, or even any solid write ups. It took nearly a month to find the fuse box diagram. I was hoping someone knew of a free online manual that was worth checking. The lack of resources for 96 hasn't stopped me on anything but it has turned what should've been 1-2 hours into 4 days.
Old 09-20-2017, 02:37 PM
CF Veteran

Received 89 Likes on 78 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L

Let me see if I can provide a short version of this answer.

The 1996 model year is a little unusual. Some aspects are more 95-like, and others are more like the 97. Depending on when the 96 was built.

You can get digital Field Service Manuals from pacific coast manuals. I would recommend getting both the 95 and the 96 for the XJ Cherokee. They are very affordable. The shortcoming is that what they sell as the 96 FSM is actually slightly modified 97 FSM. So it won't be very accurate in the electrical department. But it will pretty accurate for most physical components.

Your best source for an accurate depiction of your Power Distribution Center (PDC) and the internal Fuse Junction Block will be found in the 1996 Model owner's manual. If you don't have one, you may want to check ebay. They can probably be found for a reasonable amount.