Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

How hard is it to drop the Auto tranny in a 2wd XJ?

Search this Thread

Old 01-25-2011, 10:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default How hard is it to drop the Auto tranny in a 2wd XJ?

Ok,I've been driving my '94 XJ for a few months now, and the whole time the starter has made a terrible noise. I know it isnt the starter, But I also know that the guy at the junkyard dropped my engine 4 times off of the forklift! So, I pulled the flywheel cover, and sure enough... the flexplate is bent!. So, I've gotta drop the tranny and change it.. Now, I did put the engine in myself, but i pulled the old engine/trans as a unit and dropped the new engine/old trans in as a unit. how hard is just dropping the tranny? anything special I should look for other than the inverted torx head bolts??
Old 01-25-2011, 10:41 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1988
Engine: 4.0

Originally Posted by Fanmanj
Ok,I've been driving my '94 XJ for a few months now, and the whole time the starter has made a terrible noise. I know it isnt the starter, But I also know that the guy at the junkyard dropped my engine 4 times off of the forklift! So, I pulled the flywheel cover, and sure enough... the flexplate is bent!. So, I've gotta drop the tranny and change it.. Now, I did put the engine in myself, but i pulled the old engine/trans as a unit and dropped the new engine/old trans in as a unit. how hard is just dropping the tranny? anything special I should look for other than the inverted torx head bolts??