Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Help with repairs

Search this Thread

Old 05-10-2016, 08:40 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1994
Model: Cherokee
Engine: N/A
Default Help with repairs

Hey guys,

I recently got ahold of a full copy PDF of the Cherokee XJ, mine is a 1994 XJ, 2WD, 4.0L, IL6, got a few requests as I'm completely new to vehicle teching and having started from scratch to what I know today.

My brother in law specializes in jeep, having a 1990 XJ he's dropped $30,000~ and done all of the upgrades and repairs himself, he is a very recourse full person when he isn't at work.

My questions is-

1) Where can I get a complete seal and gasket replacement kit? My jeep sat for years and me and my brother in law are troubleshooting every problem as they come, and right now, the majority are from leaks and what we presume to be from being dormant 8+ years under the hot Galveston, Texas sun. I'm having to put new fluids in (Oil, PS Fluid) every other week, and it's gradually draining worse. So he predicts dry rotted seals and gaskets. I have a decent flow of money, I'll start there.

2) Second, this isn't exactly OEM, but I'd like to maybe play with a digital dash conversion for my gauge cluster, like the new vehicles have where it's all digital, if that's a possible conversion. If not, break it to me, and I'll move on.

3) I'd like a smoother ride, and as I research and research, I'm just sent off into more confusing paths, so I'm hoping for some help here. I want just smoothness, but can I still have smoothness with a 3.5 inch lift kit?

4) The wires under the hood are trash. I mean, they work, but I'd really have peace at mind if there was a practical and somewhat simple way to replace all the wires with new wires and relocate them where they aren't loosely hanging in the air.