Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Getting a new jeep! Need help with lift/tires and money situation!?

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2008, 10:39 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Wagoneer
Exclamation Getting a new jeep! Need help with lift/tires and money situation!?

hello all! well im a newb to this site! but not to XJ's. ive had 2 so far but neither were lifted, just hard running beasts. but im about to purchase a black 99' cherokee classic with 106K and totally stock and i dont want to keep it that way for long! but ive read all the threads i could find and looked at the Tires/Lift thread with was awesome! so im decided on the RE 3.5 or 4.5 and hopefully some goodyear MTR 32's. but basically i need some help on pricing, odds are im going to get it professionally done and i need to figure out how much cash im looking spending!? lift, install,tires- and also what kind of hidden stuff im not aware of like a must SYE, alignment and little stuff that comes up in the process. i have a 4x4 place in town and also a Les Swabb and i heard they do lifts! so which is better to get the install at? and should i order the stuff through them or to my house?...i know its alot to swallow but i need some help from the panel! so any info or direction would be helpful!!! thanks
Old 10-07-2008, 03:08 PM
CF Veteran

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts
Year: 1987
Model: Comanche
Engine: I6 4.0L

im in the exact situation i would go for the RE 3.5 cause it is possible you wont need a SYE. you can also fit 32's on a 3.5 lift if you trim your fenders. i have never installed a lift but people say you can do it in your driveway with the right tools and seeing that you have had 2 XJ's you know your way around them.

Good luck
Old 10-07-2008, 03:32 PM
Seasoned Member