Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Death Wobble help!

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2009, 01:58 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2000
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Death Wobble help!

Firstly, I'm kind of new to the jeep scene, so bear with me.

i installed my teraflex BB and now whenever i hit a medium size or bigger bump i get DW, and i'd really like to know what to do to fix it. everything in the front end is tightened(not to any specific ftlbs, but tight). it has not been aligned/tires balanced since i put the lift on though.

if someone can please tell me what to do to stop it, it would be greatly appreciated!
Old 08-15-2009, 06:40 AM
CF Veteran

Received 94 Likes on 85 Posts
Year: 1990, 1999, 2000
Engine: 4.0

get that puppy aligned.

are your control arms adjustable?
Old 08-15-2009, 07:17 AM

get it alligned and it should go away your jeep is prolly really bad out of allignment
Old 08-15-2009, 08:47 AM
CF Veteran

Originally Posted by caged
get that puppy aligned.

are your control arms adjustable?
with a 2" bb. very doubtful
Old 08-15-2009, 01:36 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1990
Engine: 4.0 I 6

aliened it
Old 08-15-2009, 04:31 PM

Engine: 4.0L I6

so it seems like aligning it is the most popular response. will that for sure solve it?
Old 08-15-2009, 05:09 PM

Year: 1992
Engine: 4.0L I6 MPI "Power Tech HO
Default Track Bar Bushings

Take a look at your track bar bushings, my friend and I both had death wbble issues, changed out the bushing for the track bar which was ate up and now no more wobble. Not saying this is the only fix that needs accomplished but it solved mine and his. Alignment is also a good bet!
Old 08-15-2009, 08:42 PM
CF Veteran

Received 482 Likes on 413 Posts
Year: 1986
Engine: 4.3L with headers and full 3" exhaust system