Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Anyone have a write-up/video for a transmission filter change?

Old 05-20-2014, 06:29 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 2001
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L
Default Anyone have a write-up/video for a transmission filter change?

Checked the tranny fluid and it's pretty brown so planning to do a drain and swap the filter while I'm at it. (I know it's just a screen I like the peace of mind) If anyone has seen a good write-up or video showing how to do this that would help. I'm sure I can handle it, but would prefer to follow along with a guide/video since I've never done this before. Thanks guys
Old 05-20-2014, 06:56 PM
CF Veteran

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: '99 and '91

Its pretty straight forward.

There's a drain plug, open it and drain the fluid out, well as much as will come out that way. Unbolt the pan.

Hopefully the dipstick tube will become separated for you easier than any of the ones I've dealt with have. You may have to unbolt the dipstick all together to get the Pam to drop.

clean the pan as much as you can. And the magnets too, clean those.

Get the surfaces clear of old gasket (or gos forbid... rtv).

My dad taught me a little trick for putting the new gasket and pan on. Take zip ties, feed them in backwards (so they don't "zip") and use them to attach the gasket to the pan. Then after you get a few bolts in you can pull them out. No fighting to keep the gasket lined up.
Old 05-20-2014, 08:53 PM

Year: 98
Engine: 4.0 L

Originally Posted by DieselD
Its pretty straight forward.

There's a drain plug, open it and drain the fluid out, well as much as will come out that way. Unbolt the pan.

Hopefully the dipstick tube will become separated for you easier than any of the ones I've dealt with have. You may have to unbolt the dipstick all together to get the Pam to drop.