Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

Add-a-leaf as bad as made out to be?

Search this Thread

Old 03-27-2009, 10:42 PM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1998
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L I6
Default Add-a-leaf as bad as made out to be?

I went to a suspension shop in my town and the guy said he could get me a Rough Country 3" Stage II AAL installed for around $500.

You see, I am a poor high school student and I don't do any hardcore wheeling.

Do you think The AAL kit is as bad as most make them out to be?

The guy said he thinks it will be fine and he had a 6" AAL on his Chevy full-size and it was fine.
Old 03-27-2009, 10:45 PM

Year: 1987
Engine: 4.0

It will be fine at first.....then it will Sag, I know plenty of people that have run them without a problem but every Rough Country AAL I have ever seen has also sagged within a year
Old 03-27-2009, 10:47 PM
Do you hear banjos?

Received 6 Likes on 3 Posts

If you don't wheel it much, or carry heavy loads in the back, they will last longer.
Old 03-27-2009, 10:47 PM
Seasoned Member

Year: 1992

i dont kno how bad it is but it kinds sounds like a bad idea if u really think about it .the added spring would have to be so stiff it would ride like crap. if u have a few wrenches and alittle time you can do a 3in lift ur self for less than that and u wouldnt have to use aal. i got zj springs and 2in spacers and did a s10 bastard pack and put bds shocks in the rear and monroes in the front and my total came up less than $250.
Old 03-27-2009, 10:51 PM
Seasoned Member

Originally Posted by ShortyzKustomz
It will be fine at first.....then it will Sag, I know plenty of people that have run them without a problem but every Rough Country AAL I have ever seen has also sagged within a year
Within a year?! The guy at the shop said it shouldn't sag for a very, very long time.