Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

95 cherokee Dash lights not working.. All of them

Old 03-13-2018, 07:50 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1992
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.o
Question 95 cherokee Dash lights not working.. All of them

Hi there , as per title, I have the dash lights not working on my 95 xj I mean almost ALL of them, even the fan and heater **** and shift selector ones, the only ones that work are the ones for the blinkers and beams, and the 4wd indicators.... I have found an old thread on the forum that said to look at a 5 and 20 amp fuse,... Even if the layout of my fuse is a bit different from the one of the post I have checked all my fuses and seem ok... May they still be burnt but not giving it away?
Any clue? I am a total noob and don't know where to start !
Old 03-15-2018, 12:32 PM

Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 inline 6

Did the lights used to work? Can you remember anything you did that may have caused the failure?

If the lights have never worked since you got the xj. Do you know if the PO ever removed the dash? (He/she may have pinched some wires upon reassembly, or simply forgotten to reconnect some connections.)

I would get a shop manual and find that fuse.

Check the fuse.. maybe even replace with a brand new one (they're cheap after all )
if still no luck. I'd use an electric tester and poke at the metal fuse connectors to see if their is power to the fuse.

If there is. Then i'd follow the wire from that fuse to the ignition switch.. test the wire just before it enters the ignition switch. Power? Okay, then I'd consult the wiring diagram in my shop manual, and find the wire that powers the interior running lights leading AWAY from the ignition switch. Test it. No power?.. your switch is bad. Replace it.