Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

94 XJ VERY bouncy / rough rear end. Shocks?

Search this Thread

Old 11-05-2009, 11:51 AM
Seasoned Member

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 94
Model: Cherokee
Default 94 XJ VERY bouncy / rough rear end. Shocks?

This is probably an obvious answer, but I'm a Jeep noob, and I wanted to get a little input.

I picked up a $500 94 XJ for a winter beater / toy a few weeks ago. I've gotten it running, and got most of the major bugs worked out, but the rear end is EXTREMELY bouncy. Like, it feels like it's almost getting some air over normal sized road bumps.

It's barely tolerable on the street, but I tried to take it out on some chip and gravel backroads, and it was undrivable. The rear end is jumping around like crazy. A small washboard is downright scary at any speed above 20mph.

So, I would normally suspect blown shocks on the cars I'm used to working on. There's a few reasons I'm not so sure on this jeep:

1. It's got a 3" lift. I'm not familiar enough with XJs yet to be able to tell the quality of the lift. I don't have any broken leafs, the shocks look reasonably good (I know, you can't really tell by looking at them), and everything is tight.

2. It was minorly hit in the rear end before I bought it. The subframe where the bumper attaches is bent under a bit at the rear mount point for the leaf spring. I suspect that the leaf spring is compressed somewhat more than normal because of this. The whole suspension seems a bit stiffer on that corner.

3. Jumping up and down on the back bumper seems to not give as much suspension travel as I think it should. It's only moving 2-3" on the corner that I think is the problem (right rear). The left rear seems to move more.