Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

89 XJ Advice

Search this Thread

Old 12-11-2009, 12:52 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Year: 1989
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0L 6cyl
Default 89 XJ Advice

So, I did a search and came up with lots of different advice on all sorts of different subjects from lifts to lockers and all that jazz. Im still new to this world so some of the terminology and accronymns yall use are still a little foreign, but im working on that.

My 89 didnt come with an owners manual, so I grabbed the chiltons and that has helped. However, I could use some advice from the experienced on general maintenance areas. Also, areas that are a just good all around area to upgrade.

As of now, I have replaced several small bits and pieces with jy treasures. I have also replaced the rad (had a hole in the bottom), t stat, water pump, serp belt and brakes all around. Also replaced tranny fluid and filter as well as the standard oil and filter change. Repaired the vacuum system of my 4wd (those stupid thick black connecting booties were a joke).

My current issues are:
Part-time light flashes sporadically (very erractic; no loss of 4wd)
Heat never gets very warm
Power locks lock, but wont unlock (suspect bad wiring at pass. side)

Any suggestions on those areas?

I plan on ditching the 260k motor and picking up a new re-manned one and slapping that in next summer. After that, I plan on doing a conservative 3" lift.

I also have some surface rust areas on the body and plan on coating her in herculiner. What is a good grit of sand paper to use on the body to remove rust as well as scuff it enough?

Sorry this was so long, but I didnt want to miss anything. Thanks yall!
Old 12-11-2009, 01:02 PM
CF Veteran

Year: 1996 Limited
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 5.2