Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

2000 XJ A/C Issue-Please Help!

Old 09-06-2017, 09:27 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 2000 XJ A/C Issue-Please Help!

Hey yall,

So I have a Jeep question and I'm hoping to get some help. I'm a pretty novice mechanic so go easy on me. I have a 2000 Jeep Cherokee Sport with about 199,000 miles on it. About 7 or 8 months ago the A/C stopped working and began blowing luke warm air. At the time I didn't want to shell out the money to fix it so I've just ignored the problem and lived with the windows down approach. Well a few weeks ago the outside temps were reaching 100 degrees and I was dieing, so I decided to bite the bullet and take it to get it fixed. The first trip the shop told me it was just low on freon and the blower motor resistor was shot. They replaced the blower motor and added freon, called and said it was blowing cold and I could come get it. Driving off the lot it wasn't super cold, but colder than it had been the past months. I just figured it needed time to really kick in. The next day I got in to head to work and it was back to blowing luke warm, so I took it back to the same shop since I paid them and my problem wasn't fixed. This time they called and told me I needed to replace the Evap Core and the Accumulator and that it was going to be $1300. Well obviously I told them to go screw themselves and figured I'd tackle it myself. I changed the head on this Jeep myself so I didn't think this would be more difficult than that job. I had a friend help me and after a few youtube videos and reading up on some forum notes we started the job. Took about 2 hours but we had the dash off and the HVAC shell out of the Jeep. We replaced the evap core, the heater core since it looked a little rough upon inspecting it, and replaced the accumulator. We put the box b