Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1998 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 need help (no spark)

Old 02-03-2017, 02:47 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 1998 Jeep Cherokee 4.0 need help (no spark)

I have a 98 Cherokee sport 4.0 with 107k on it. I have been storing it for about 6-8 months due to I drive 30+ miles to work each way so to keep miles down I have been driving a beater. I have periodically started and drove it, with the last time being about month and a half ago. It ran perfect at this point. I went out the garage and started the engine. The jeep started right up ran 2-3 seconds and then shut off. After figuring out fuel pump was good (not only can I hear pump run with key I confirmed fuel at rail) I began trouble shooting and found I have no spark. I read lots of info that pointed to the CPS as the likely source. I replaced it with a OEM sensor and still nothing. I then went to seemingly the next likely culprit the switchplate/cam sensor/pick up coil whatever you prefer to call it. Nothing still no spark. I have confirmed distributor is spinning (in case of catastrophic failure) I also rotated motor by hand with key on and can hear relays kicking in and out under hood with both the new CPS and the old one. There is NO CODES. I confirmed with scan tool and self diagnostic (push mileage reset while turning key on). Jeep is never mudded and has no rust or corrosion anywhere. All the connections literally look like they did in 1998. I have spent nearly $150 already in parts and really dont want to keep throwing parts on that I cant take back. All I can find is Crank Sensor then sensor in distributor nothing after.
Im sorry for the long first post, but Im really perplexed.
Old 02-03-2017, 02:57 PM
CF Veteran

Received 89 Likes on 78 Posts
Year: 1996
Model: Cherokee (XJ)
Engine: 4.0L