Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1995 xj for $200

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2010, 02:37 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Model: Cherokee
Default 1995 xj for $200

Here are the details
-automatic
-dead transmission
-4x4
-missing front drivesaft (she said she got it like that)

My friend checked it out for me and said it will need a new t-case since it is probably dry (no driveshaft connecting it to front diff). He said it might need a new front axle since the diff might be dry also.

I made an offer of $200 and she said yes. I can pick it up this weekend. I am new to jeeps but not new to cars. I am planning on doing a manual swap and replacing t-case and front driveshaft. I can do all the labor myself and it wont be a problem.

How much money am i looking into for parts? I saw that a manual transmission swap could cost around $500 for all the parts. What about the front shaft? Do you think this is worth it?
Old 04-28-2010, 07:32 PM
CF Veteran

Received 19 Likes on 18 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Grand Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 with all of the noise and clatter

You're going to have to look up the cost of parts on your own. Prices change so much between bone yard to bone yard. Don't be lazy, do your own leg work.
Old 04-28-2010, 07:50 PM

Year: 1988
Engine: 4.0

why would the transfercase and axle be dry because the drive shaft is out. that shouldnt happen. ive taken my drive shaft out and rode around with out it. they should be ok
Old 04-28-2010, 10:42 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1991
Engine: I-6 H.O