Stock XJ Cherokee Tech. All XJ Non-modified/stock questions go here XJ (84-01)
All OEM related XJ specific tech. Examples, no start, general maintenance or anything that's stock.

1995 cherokee xj smoking ignition switch

Search this Thread

Old 10-10-2015, 03:57 PM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Year: 1995
Model: Cherokee
Engine: 4.0 inline 6
Default 1995 cherokee xj smoking ignition switch

okay, I've been driving my xj for several years, love it. But every once in a while.. oh.. say.. every two years or so.. my ignition switch will start smoking. You can see the smoke curling up out of the switch itself. Then the switch would start failing on me. I'd have to hold the key at a certain angle to keep the engine running. Sometimes jam another key in between the cylinder cover and surrounding housing to keep the ignition running. Otherwise, it would randomly fail on me while going 75 mph on the highway, or right when I'm pulling out in front of a bunch of heavy traffic on a busy intersection. ugh.

But its a fairly easy fix. I'd go to the junkyard pull a matching ignition switch, take it home. Carefully remove the locking cylinder, replace it with mine so I can keep using my original key and I'd be good to go for another 2 years or so.

a pain...yes.. but managable.

Well, my blower motor has been bad for months.. but it still growls and rumbles on high. I was out of a job at the time and didn't have the funds to fix it. Now I do. And I'm going to just replace the motor, the resister and the relay with brand new, aftermarket units.

I know that a blown motor and blown resister sends more (voltage?) coursing through the wiring.. overheating and smoking at the relay and resister and can even start a fire. I don't know if mine are in that state, but I expect that I will find them so.